

FILED³ SEP 1 6 2014

Missouri Publie Service Commission

Missouri House of Representatives

September 16, 2014

Commissioner Robert S. Kenney, Chairman Missouri Public Service Commission P. O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0360

Dear Chairman Kenney:

We are writing in support of the Office of Public Counsel's application for rehearing regarding the compromise stipulation filed in Noranda's rate design case. It is our understanding that the compromise stipulation was not considered by the commission in connection with its order of August 20, 2014. We are mindful of the difficult task you have as a commission. However, we are also deeply concerned about the job-losses and the even greater potential for job loss at the New Madrid smelter.

Setting electricity rates for customers of investor-owned utilities falls under the Public Service Commission authority. This is a great benefit for the citizens of our State and we believe strongly that the Public Service Commission is the proper entity to make this decision.

In the political process it is rare to find a compromise where nearly everyone affected by a decision is supportive of the requested outcome. It is our understating that this stipulation has great support from consumer groups, businesses of all sizes, and Governor Nixon. The PSC staff has even given its support for Noranda's power rate designated in the stipulation. The OPC's stipulation indicates that consumer rates will be lower with the approved stipulation than they would be if Noranda exits Ameren's service territory.

We sincerely urge you to carefully consider this broadly supported compromise. In doing so, the Commission would not only be supporting the OPC's negotiated solution to provide Noranda a much needed, affordable power rate; it would be saving jobs and a way of life for those 900 families that depend on Noranda. Thank you for your public service and consideration of our request.

Sincerely,

Pichato odel

Todd Richardson District 152

Carip Kolact

Robert Cornejo District 64

Vitat Hans

Kent Hampton District 150

and

Jon Carpenter District 15

VickiEnglund

Vicki Englund District 94

Thike lieipiot

Mike Cierpoit District 30

Holly Rehder District 148

sedges

Steve Hodges District 149

Schen Testare

Jeremy LaFaver District 25

Lincoln Hough District 135