
Below are examples of some states with low-income rates for your review and 

consideration. 

SPECIFIC RATES FOR LOW INCOME CUSTOMERS 

California 

Low-income customers of the state's three large investor-owned utilities who 
are enrolled in the California Alternative Rates for Energy (CARE) program 

receive a 20% discount on their electric and natural gas bills. For one- and 
two-person households, the maximum income is $29,300. The maximum 
increases with household size, e.g., $34,400 for a three-person household.  

The Family Electric Rate Assistance (FERA) program can provide a discount on 

electricity costs for households with three or more persons with somewhat 
higher incomes. Households qualify if they receive benefits under various 
welfare programs, including Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, food 

stamps, Medicaid, and energy assistance. Alternatively, a household is eligible 
if its income falls within certain limits, e.g., $34,401 and $43,000 for a three 

person household.  

In California, the electric rate that a household is charged depends on how its 
consumption compares with a baseline, which varies by region and other 
factors. Households that participate in FERA are charged Tier 2 rates that 

normally apply to consumption at 101% to 130 % of baseline for their Tier 3 
usage (131% to 200% of baseline). The program does not affect the rates 

charged for higher levels of consumption.  

These provisions are funded through a rate surcharge paid by all utility 
customers. 

Massachusetts 

State law (Mass. Gen. Law 164 Sec. 1F) requires electric companies to provide 
rate discounts for low-income customers. Eligible customers receive rate 

discounts of 20% to 35% off the standard residential rate, depending on their 
utility company. Customers are eligible if their household income is 200% of 

the federal poverty limit (i.e., $35,200 for a three-person household in 2008). 
Participants in certain benefit programs, such as food stamps and 
supplemental security income, are automatically enrolled in the rate discount 

program, Participants in energy assistance programs are also eligible, but must 
apply for the rate discount. The law requires that the cost of the discounts be 

paid from the rates charged other company customers. Further information 
about the rate discounts is available at 



www.massresources.org/pages.cfm?contentID=72&pageID=14&Subpages=yes#
whatis.  

 

Ohio 

The state's Percentage of Income Payment Plan (PIPP) requires regulated gas 
and electric companies to accept payments based on a percentage of household 
income. The Office of Community Services administers the program for electric 

customers and community action agencies for gas customers. The program is 
funded by the universal service charges on electric and gas bills. 

To be eligible for the program, a customer must (1) receive his or her primary 
or secondary heat source from a utility company regulated by the Public 

Utilities Commission of Ohio, (2) have a total household income at or below 
150% of the federal poverty level, and (3) apply for all energy assistance 

programs for which he or she is eligible. 

Customers whose primary heating source is electricity make a monthly 
payment to their electric company that is 15% of their gross monthly 
household income in billing periods that include any usage from November 1 

through April 15. The rest of the year, these households pay 15% of their gross 
monthly household income or their current electric bill, whichever is greater. 

Customers who use electricity to control their gas or oil furnace or have electric 
space heaters in addition to another heating source make an electric PIPP 
installment that is 5% of their income in the heating season. During the rest of 

the year, the household pays 5% of its income or its current electric bill, 
whichever is greater. (Most households whose income is at or below 50% of the 

federal poverty level and use electricity as its secondary source of heat, pay 
only 3% of their income during the heating season). Cleveland Electric 
Illuminating and Toledo Edison do not offer the 3% provision. Instead, they 

offer very low-income customers a 7% discount off their electric bills. 

Customers whose primary heating source is natural gas pay their gas company 
an installment that is 10% of their gross monthly household income, year-
round. Customers who use natural gas as their secondary heating source pay 

the company 5% of their income year-round. 

Participating customers must (1) make the required monthly payments, (2) re-
verify their gross monthly household income at least once every 12 months, (3) 

reapply for all available energy assistance programs at least once every 12 
months, and (4) apply for weatherization if contacted by a utility or state 
agency representative. People who apply for the Emergency Heating Assistance 

Program must also apply for PIPP or another payment plan. Further 
information about PIPP is available at www.odod.state.oh.us/cdd/ocs/pip.htm.  
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Pennsylvania 

Pennsylvania's Public Utility Commission requires major electric and gas 
companies to provide Customer Assistance Programs (CAPs) for their low-

income customers. Some programs provide flat rate discounts or bill credits, 
while others provide discounts that are tied to the customer's income. For 

example, PECO, which serves the Philadelphia area, provides four discounted 
rates to its low-income electric and gas customers (those with incomes of up to 
150% of the federal poverty level). The percentage of discount is based on the 

customer's gross household income. Other companies have arrearage 
forgiveness in their programs. For example, Duquesne, which serves the 
western part of the state, requires customers who participate in CAP to go on a 

payment plan and make on-time monthly payments. Customers are forgiven 
1/36 of their arrearage amount each monthly payment that is on time and 

complete. 

Texas 

The LITE-UP program provides an electric rate discount of about 2 cents per 
kilowatt-hour during the cooling season for low–income families. This reduces 

the electric bills of participating families by about 15% from July through 
October, an average savings of $25 to $30 per month.  

A customer qualifies for the discount if his or her family income is at or below 
125% of federal poverty level guidelines or if the customer gets certain benefits 

from the Health and Human Services Commission. These benefits include food 
stamps, Temporary Assistance to Needy Families, Supplemental Security 
Income, Medicaid, or low-income Medicare. 

The Public Utility Commission reports that there are 316,000 households who 
are automatically enrolled in the program. This system is operated by the Low-
Income Discount Administrator (LIDA) and uses data provided by the Texas 

Health and Human Services Commission and retail electric providers to identify 
eligible customers. In addition, other households that believe they are eligible 
can apply directly to LIDA. The discount is only for the summer months and 

will be available again during the summers of 2008 and 2009. 

In addition to the rate discount, participating customers cannot be charged late 
fees under Public Utility Commission rules. Participants are also eligible to pay 

security deposits over $50 in two installments. Further information about the 
program is available at www.texasrose.org/RTF1.cfm?pagename=LITE-
UP%20TEXAS. 

 

Public Power Utilities 

http://www.texasrose.org/RTF1.cfm?pagename=LITE-UP%20TEXAS
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Several public power utilities (which generally are not regulated by state public 
utility commissions) offer discounted rates to low-income customers. For 

example, the Cowlitz County (Washington) Public Utility District offers a 
reduced electric rate for qualified seniors aged 65 or older. Households with a 

gross income below $13,691 receive a 20% rate discount; those with incomes 
between $13,692 and $20,535 receive a 10% discount. The district also offers 
the same discounts to low-income households with a disabled household 

member. The Los Angeles Division of Water and Power offers a discount of up to 
15% for electric and water customers with eligibility standards similar to the 
CARE program described above. Seattle City Light (the municipal electric 

utility) provides a 50% rate discount for eligible customers. Customers who are 
65 or older or who are disabled qualify if their income is below to 70% of the 

area median (i.e., $42,600 for a three-person household). Other customers are 
eligible if their income is below 200% of the federal poverty level. The program 
is open to homeowners and renters, but not to residents of subsidized housing. 

 


