BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI

In the Matter of the Application of Grain Belt Express)
Clean Line LLC for a Certificate of Convenience and	
Necessity Authorizing it to Construct, Own, Operate,) File No. EA-2016-0358
Control, Manage and Maintain a High Voltage, Direct)
Current Transmission Line and an Associated Converter	
Station Providing an Interconnection on the Maywood -	
Montgomery 345kV Transmission Line)

ORDER DENYING MOTION TO DISMISS OR HOLD CASE IN ABEYANCE

Issue Date: April 3, 2017 Effective Date: April 3, 2017

On March 28, 2017, the Missouri Landowners Alliance ("MLA") filed a motion to dismiss the application of Grain Belt Express Clean Line LLC or, in the alternative, hold this case in abeyance for a period not to exceed six months ("Motion"). MLA also requests expedited treatment so that the Commission acts on the Motion no later than April 3, 2017. Show Me Concerned Landowners supports the Motion, but the Motion is opposed by all other parties submitting responses.

The request to dismiss the Grain Belt Express application is based on a recent opinion of the Missouri Western District Court of Appeals in the *Matter of Ameren Transmission Co. of Illinois*, No. WD 79883, 2017 WL 1149139 (Mo. Ct. App. Mar. 28, 2017) ("Neighbors United"). However, no mandate in the Neighbors United case has been entered, so the opinion is not yet final.¹ Since the request to dismiss the Grain Belt Express application in the Motion is premature, the Commission will deny that request.

¹ Philmon v. Baum, 865 S.W.2d 771, 774 (Mo. App. 1993). In addition, it is possible that one or more parties to the Neighbors United case will request rehearing or transfer to the Missouri Supreme Court.

With regard to MLA's request to hold the case in abeyance for six months, the Commission is persuaded by the arguments of several parties opposing the Motion that continuing with the current procedural schedule will be more time and cost efficient, as brief writing is best performed while memories of the facts and evidence are fresh in the mind. The Commission will deny the request to hold the case in abeyance.

THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT:

- 1. The Missouri Landowners Alliance's Motion for Expedited Treatment and Motion to Dismiss Application, or Alternatively, to Hold Case in Abeyance, filed on March 28, 2017, is denied.
 - 2. This order shall be effective when issued.



BY THE COMMISSION

Porris Z Woodry

Morris L. Woodruff Secretary

Michael Bushmann, Senior Regulatory Law Judge by delegation of authority pursuant to Section 386.240, RSMo 2000.

Dated at Jefferson City, Missouri, on this 3rd day of April, 2017.

STATE OF MISSOURI

OFFICE OF THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

I have compared the preceding copy with the original on file in this office and I do hereby certify the same to be a true copy therefrom and the whole thereof.

WITNESS my hand and seal of the Public Service Commission, at Jefferson City, Missouri, this 3rd day of April 2017.

SION OF THE OF T

Morris L. Woodruff

Secretary

MISSOURI PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION April 3, 2017

File/Case No. EA-2016-0358

Missouri Public Service Commission

Staff Counsel Department 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 staffcounselservice@psc.mo.gov

Office of the Public Counsel

Hampton Williams 200 Madison Street, Suite 650 P.O. Box 2230 Jefferson City, MO 65102 opcservice@ded.mo.gov

Charles Henke

Paul A Agathen 485 Oak Field Ct. Washington, MO 63090 paa0408@aol.com

Consumers Council of Missouri

John B Coffman 871 Tuxedo Blvd. St. Louis, MO 63119-2044 john@johncoffman.net

Lisa A Gilbreath 254 Commercial Street Portland, ME 64111-0410 Igilbreath@pierceatwood.com

Grain Belt Express Clean Line, LLC Grain Belt Express Clean Line, LLC

Joshua Harden 4520 Main Street, Suite 1100 Kansas City, MO 64111 joshua.harden@dentons.com

Grain Belt Express Clean Line, LLC IBEW Local Union 2

Karl Zobrist 4520 Main Street, Suite 1100 Kansas City, MO 64111 karl.zobrist@dentons.com

Sherrie Hall 7730 Carondelet Ave., Ste. 200 St. Louis, MO 63105 sahall@hammondshinners.com

IBEW Local Union 2

Emily Perez 7730 Carondelet Ave., Suite 200 St. Louis, MO 63105 eperez@hammondshinners.com

IBEW Local Union No. 53

Sherrie Hall 7730 Carondelet Ave., Ste. 200 St. Louis, MO 63105 sahall@hammondshinners.com

IBEW Local Union No. 53

Emily Perez 7730 Carondelet Ave., Suite 200 St. Louis, MO 63105 eperez@hammondshinners.com

Infinity Wind Power

Terri Pemberton 3321 SW 6th Ave Topeka, KS 66606 terri@caferlaw.com

Matthew and Christina Reichert

Paul A Agathen 485 Oak Field Ct. Washington, MO 63090 paa0408@aol.com

Missouri AFL-CIO

James Faul 4399 Laclede Ave., St. Louis, MO 63108 ifaul@hghllc.net

Missouri Department of Economic Development

Brian T Bear 301 W. Hight St., Room 680 P.O. Box 1766 Jefferson City, MO 65102 brian.bear@ded.mo.gov

Missouri Farm Bureau

Brent E Haden 827 E Broadway Columbia, MO 65201 brent@hadenlaw.com

Missouri Industrial Energy Consumers (MIEC)

Lewis Mills 221 Bolivar Street, Suite 101 Jefferson City, MO 65101-1574 lewis.mills@bryancave.com

Missouri Industrial Energy Consumers (MIEC)

Diana M Vuylsteke 211 N. Broadway, Suite 3600 St. Louis, MO 63102 dmvuylsteke@bryancave.com

Missouri Joint Municipal Electric Utility Commission

Douglas Healy 3010 E. Battlefield, Suite A Springfield, MO 65804 doug@healylawoffices.com

Missouri Landowners Alliance

Paul A Agathen 485 Oak Field Ct. Washington, MO 63090 paa0408@aol.com

Missouri Joint Municipal Electric Utility Commission

Penny Speake 3010 E. Battlefield, Suite A Springfield, MO 65804 penny@healylawoffices.com

Missouri Public Service Commission

Nathan Williams 200 Madison Street, Suite 800 P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102 nathan.williams@psc.mo.gov

Missouri Joint Municipal Electric Utility Commission

Peggy A Whipple 514 E. High Street, Suite A Jefferson City, MO 65101 peggy@healylawoffices.com

Missouri Retailers Association

Diana M Vuylsteke 211 N. Broadway, Suite 3600 St. Louis, MO 63102 dmvuylsteke@bryancave.com

Natural Resources Defense Council R. Kenneth Hutchinson

Henry B Robertson 319 N. Fourth St., Suite 800 St. Louis, MO 63102 hrobertson@greatriverslaw.org

Paul A Agathen 485 Oak Field Ct. Washington, MO 63090 paa0408@aol.com

Randall Meyer

Paul A Agathen 485 Oak Field Ct. Washington, MO 63090 paa0408@aol.com

Renew Missouri

Andrew J Linhares 1200 Rogers Street, Suite B Columbia, MO 65201-4744 Andrew@renewmo.org

Robyn Henke

Paul A Agathen 485 Oak Field Ct. Washington, MO 63090 paa0408@aol.com

Rockies Express Pipeline

Colly J Durley 111 S. Ninth St., Suite 200 P.O. Box 918 Columbia, MO 65205-0918 Durley@smithlewis.com

Rockies Express Pipeline

Sarah E Giboney 111 South Ninth Street, Suite 200 P.O. Box 918 Columbia, MO 65205-0918 giboney@smithlewis.com

Roseanne Meyer

Paul A Agathen 485 Oak Field Ct. Washington, MO 63090 paa0408@aol.com

Show Me Concerned Landowners

David C Linton 314 Romaine Spring View Fenton, MO 63026 Jdlinton@reagan.com

Sierra Club

Henry B Robertson 319 N. Fourth St., Suite 800 St. Louis, MO 63102 hrobertson@greatriverslaw.org

The Wind Coalition

Sean Brady PO Box 4072 Wheaton, IL 60189-4072 sbrady@windonthewires.org

The Wind Coalition

Deirdre K Hirner 2603 Huntleigh Place Jefferson City, MO 65109 dhirner@awea.org

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.

David Woodsmall 807 Winston Court Jefferson City, MO 65101 david.woodsmall@woodsmalllaw.com sbrady@windonthewires.org

Wind on the Wires

Sean Brady PO Box 4072 Wheaton, IL 60189-4072

Wind on the Wires

Deirdre K Hirner 2603 Huntleigh Place Jefferson City, MO 65109 dhirner@awea.org

Enclosed find a certified copy of an Order or Notice issued in the above-referenced matter(s).

Sincerely,

Morris L. Woodruff

Porris L Woodry

Secretary

Recipients listed above with a valid e-mail address will receive electronic service. Recipients without a valid e-mail address will receive paper service.